Empowering a Community of Excellence

Holidays

The University of Kansas provides paid holidays to employees to help balance work and family responsibilities.

Eligibility

University Support Staff (USS), Unclassified Professional Staff (UPS), and fiscal year faculty and academic staff are eligible for paid holidays. Academic year faculty/academic staff, temporary employees (including students), and part-time employees who work irregular schedules are not eligible for paid holidays. 

Holiday Schedule

The table below provides the holiday schedule for the calendar years listed below. You can also download the 2019 Desk Calendar (pdf) or the 2020 Desk Calendar (pdf) to print and use as a desk reference.

 
2019 2020
New Year's Day
Tues., Jan 1, 2019 Wed., Jan 1, 2020
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Mon., Jan 21, 2019 Mon., Jan 20, 2020
Memorial Day
Mon., May 27, 2019 Mon., May 25, 2020
Independence Day
Thurs., July 4, 2019 Fri., July 3, 2020
Labor Day
Mon., Sept 2, 2019 Mon., Sept 7, 2020
Mon., Nov 11, 2019 Wed., Nov 11, 2020
Thanksgiving
Thurs., Nov 28, 2019 Thurs., Nov 26, 2020
Fri., Nov 29, 2019 Fri., Nov 27, 2020
Christmas
Wed., Dec 25, 2019 Thurs., Dec 24, 2020
  Fri., Dec 25, 2020
May be used starting Dec. 30, 2018 through Dec. 28, 2019 May be used starting Dec. 29, 2019 through Dec. 27, 2020

Additional Information

  • When a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the holiday will be observed on either Friday or Monday, respectively.
  • In certain circumstances, staff and fiscal year faculty/academic staff may be required to work on a holiday due to the needs of the department.
  • To learn more about eligibility, compensation, and time reporting guidelines, please refer to the Holiday Policy.

Need Help? Ask Us!
Search for HRM Policies
 

Visit the Policy Office for more information.

HRM Calendars
KU Today