Empowering a Community of Excellence

Holidays

The University of Kansas provides paid holidays to employees to help balance work and family responsibilities.

Eligibility

University Support Staff (USS), Unclassified Professional Staff (UPS), and fiscal year faculty and academic staff are eligible for paid holidays. Academic year faculty/academic staff, temporary employees (including students), and part-time employees who work irregular schedules are not eligible for paid holidays. 

Holiday Schedule

The table below provides the holiday schedule for the calendar years listed below. You can also download the 2017 Desk Calendar (pdf) to print and use as a desk reference.

 
2017 2018
New Year's Day
Mon., Jan 2, 2017 Mon., Jan 1, 2018
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Mon., Jan. 16, 2017 Mon., Jan 15, 2018
Memorial Day
Mon., May 29, 2017 Mon., May 28, 2018
Independence Day
Tues., July 4, 2017 Wed., July 4, 2018
Labor Day
Mon., Sept. 4, 2017 Mon., Sept 3, 2018
Fri., Nov. 10, 2017 Mon., Nov 12, 2018
Thanksgiving
Thurs., Nov. 23, 2017 Thurs., Nov 22, 2018
Fri., Nov 24, 2017 Fri., Nov 23, 2018
Christmas
Mon., Dec 25, 2017 Mon., Dec 24, 2018
  Tues., Dec 25, 2018
May be used starting Jan. 01, 2017 through Dec. 30, 2017 May be used starting Dec. 31, 2017 through Dec. 28, 2018

Additional Information

  • When a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the holiday will be observed on either Friday or Monday, respectively.
  • In certain circumstances, staff and fiscal year faculty/academic staff may be required to work on a holiday due to the needs of the department.
  • To learn more about eligibility, compensation, and time reporting guidelines, please refer to the Holiday Policy.

Need Help? Ask Us!
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Search for HRM Policies
 

Visit the Policy Office for more information.

HRM Calendars
Coming Soon
Coming Soon
KU Today